Netherlands, Israel, Germany, and Brazil, with over half of the participants being young researchers (undergraduate students, graduate students, postdocs or junior faculty).

The conference was organized by Sebastian Cioabă, Robert Coulter and Qing Xiang (all UD) and Gene Fiorini (Muhlenberg College) with the generous support of the National Science Foundation, the University of Delaware, Villanova University, DIMACS, Muhlenberg College, IMA and ILAS.

To further disseminate the knowledge presented and obtained during the conference, the slides from the presentations will be posted on the web page and there will be a special issue of *Discrete Mathematics* dedicated to the conference.

### MAT-TRIAD'2017 - International Conference on Matrix Analysis and its Applications Będlewo, Poland, September 25–29, 2017

#### Report by Katarzyna Filipiak and Dominika Wojtera-Tyrakowska

The 2017 edition of MatTriad, seventh in a series of international conferences on Matrix Analysis and its Applications, was held September 25–29, 2017 in Będlewo (a neighborhood of Poznań, Poland) at the Mathematical Research and Conference Center of the Polish Academy of Sciences. MatTriad brought together researchers sharing an interest in a variety of aspects of matrix analysis and its applications to other areas of science. Matrix theory is used in almost all other parts of mathematics



and all areas to which mathematics is applied, and, in return, other parts of mathematics can be very useful in proving things about matrices, sometimes things that are very difficult or impossible to prove using conventional matrix-theoretic methods. Many advances have been made recently, both theoretical and practical, with a lot of discussion between matrix theorists and other mathematicians.

The conference was co-organized by the International Stefan Banach Mathematical Center - Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland, Institute of Socio-Economic Geography and Spatial Management, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland and Department of Mathematical and Statistical Methods, Poznań University of Life Sciences, Poland. The Scientific Committee was chaired by Tomasz Szulc (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland) and comprised Natália Bebiano (University of Coimbra, Portugal), Ljiljana Cvetković (University of Novi Sad, Serbia), Heike Faßbender (Technical University Braunschweig, Germany) and Simo Puntanen (University of Tampere, Finland). The Organizing Committee was chaired by Augustyn Markiewicz (Poznań University of Life Sciences, Poland) and comprised Francisco Carvalho (Polytechnic Institute of Tomar, Portugal), Katarzyna Filipiak (Poznań University of Technology, Poland), Jan Hauke (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland), Aneta Sawikowska (Poznań University of Life Sciences, Poland), and Dominika Wojtera-Tyrakowska (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland).

The conference consisted of 2 invited lectures, 7 invited talks, 54 contributed talks, and 2 posters, in the topics chosen for this conference, especially Interval Matrices, Total Positivity, and Matrix Methods in Linear Models. There was also a session in memoriam of Prof. Jaroslav Zemánek. The invited lectures were delivered by Fuzhen Zhang (USA): *Tensors and some combinatorial properties of tensors*; and Lynn R. LaMotte (USA): *Deconstructing type III*. The invited speakers were Narayanaswamy Balakrishnan (Canada), Andreas Frommer (Germany), Volker Mehrmann (Germany), Jolanta Pielaszkiewicz (Sweden), K. Manjunatha Prasad (India), Mirloslav Rozložník (Czech Republic), and Ernest Šanca (Serbia).

During the conference dinner, the chair of the Scientific Committee proudly announced the winners of the Young Scientists Awards (YSA) for the best talks presented by Ph.D. students and young scientists: Álvaro Barreras (Spain) and Ryo Tabata (Japan). The winners will be Invited Speakers at the 2019 edition of MatTriad.



The YSA 2017 Committee and the winners: (from the left) N. Bebiano, S. Puntanen, Á. Barreras (winner), D. von Rosen, R. Tabata (winner), J. Volaufova, T. Szulc, and M. Rozložník

A special issue of the *Electronic Journal of Linear Algebra (ELA)* will be devoted to MAT TRIAD 2017 with selected papers strongly related with the presentations given at the conference.

The participants shared the common opinion that the conference was extremely fruitful and well organized, with a friendly and warm atmosphere. The list of the participants of MAT TRIAD 2017, abstracts of the talks and posters, the gallery of photographs, and other information can be found at https://mattriad.wmi.amu.edu.pl.



MAT TRIAD 2017 group photograph

# JOURNAL ANNOUNCEMENT

### LAA Special Issue in Honor of Vladimir Sergeichuk

#### Contributed announcement from Peter Šemrl

Linear Algebra and Its Applications (LAA) is pleased to announce a special issue in honor of Professor Vladimir Sergeichuk in recognition of his many important contributions to linear algebra and on the occasion of his 70<sup>th</sup> birthday in 2019. LAA solicits papers for the special issue within the entire scope of LAA with a special emphasize on research topics related to the work of Vladimir Sergeichuk. The deadline for submissions of papers is April 1, 2018. All submissions will be subject to normal refereeing procedures and the usual standards of LAA will be applied. They should be submitted via the Elsevier Editorial System EES (http://ees.elsevier.com/laa), choosing the special issue called "In Honor of Vladimir Sergeichuk" and the responsible Editor-in-Chief Peter Šemrl.

Authors will have the opportunity to suggest one of the following special editors to handle their submission: Natália Bebiano, Matej Brešar, Vyacheslav Futorny.

## ILAS NEWS

#### 2017 ILAS Elections: Nominations

#### Contributed announcement from Peter Šemrl

The Nominating Committee for the 2017 ILAS elections has completed its work. Nominated for a three year term, beginning March 1, 2018, as ILAS Secretary/Treasurer is: Leslie Hogben

Nominated for the two open three-year terms, beginning March 1, 2018, as "at-large" members of the ILAS Board of Directors are: Maria Isabel Bueno, Lajos Molnar, Abbas Salemi, and Vilmar Trevisan.

Many thanks to the Nominating Committee: Froilan Dopico (Chair), Richard Brualdi, Anne Greenbaum, Yongdo Lim, and Sarah Plosker.